Replenish Me

The last couple of months have been full of social, networking and work engagements, which has meant a full face of makeup, late nights and probably a few too many drinks… but it IS the silly season after all!

However, this has left a heavy toll on my skin; along with the funny weather we’ve been experiencing here in Melbourne (typical four seasons in one day, but to the extreme) so I needed some serious advice on skin care to restore the balance.

Where else to go, but my dear friend Sara at Sweet Fern for a few tips.  Sweet Fern stocks the full range of Aesop products, and Sara is skilled in giving the right advice…..

For those who have not used or heard of Aesop before (is there anyone!?), Aesop is a Melbourne based company who’s aims have been to formulate the finest quality plant-based skin, body and hair care products since 1987. And I’m a BIG fan and have been for years! Aesop’s products can be found throughout Australasia, Europe, America and Asia.

Now, my skin is one of those tricky combination types…it gets dry over the chin and cheeks and oily on occasion down the T zone. At (almost) 40 year of age i still get the occasional break outs and probably really should be taking more care of those fine lines and wrinkles around the eyes…but they are just character right?

On Sara’s recommendation I bought some of the  Aesop Blue Chamomile Facial Hydrating Mask.

Sara says “The Blue Chamomile Facial Hydrating Masque is a gel containing sodium carrageenan, an ingredient essential for promoting hyaluronic acid which lubricates and improves the skins barrier. Panthenol, also known as vitamin B5, relieves inflamed skin. Other soothing ingredients include ginger root extract, rosemary leaf oil, lavender oil and blue chamomile. The masque can be used twice weekly and left on for up to thirty minutes.”

My skin absorbed that goodness right up, leaving a subtle fragrance and a kind of sticky but soft feel to my face. Now although the bottle says to use 6-8 pumps and to wipe away excess after 30 minutes with a damp cloth I only use 2 pumps for all over my face and neck and leave it on overnight for a totally luxuriating moisture intense treatment twice weekly.

You can buy this for $55 for a 60ml

For additional facial hydration Sara also recommended the Lucient Facial Concentrate.

The “Lucent Facial Concentrate is a new product within the Aesop skin care plus range. This aqueous and quickly absorbed hydration serum is ideal for all skin types. Lucent contains rose petals which provide a vast number of botanical benefits including moisturising and toning the skin. Sodium ascorbyl phosphate is a water-soluble form of vitamin C which assists in maintaining firm and youthful skin through collagen production. Niacinamide is a form of vitamin B strengthening the skins barrier and acts as an anti inflammatory toward any blemishes.”


For $120 for 60ml this is definitely on my ‘wish-list’ so I was given some samples to try out. This was beautiful!… a soft and subtle rose fragrance and matte finish, I loved this product. The serum although it looks oily did not feel so at all and quickly absorbed into my skin. I combined the Blue Chamomile Masque with Lucent Facial Concentrate for an ultimate hydration treatment a few times a week and at other times used each purely on its own.

Each morning after using these I certainly noticed a difference, my skin was feeling more supple and brighter and the redness from any blemishes was not as noticeable. They’ll be kept in my skin care regime for sure and added to my growing collection of Aesop.

Do you love Aesop? What’s your favourite product in their range?
Not sponsored….just in need of a really good hydration!

 

Stephanie xx

12 thoughts on “Replenish Me

Leave a comment