A Day at the Races

I love an excuse to get all dressed up, who doesn’t! The Ballarat Cup seemed like the perfect opportunity to mix fashion and a family outing.

 

As regular Melbourne race goer’s years ago (pre-children) the thrill of a new frock and fascinator for each race day was intoxicating; these days quite frankly the budget isn’t there to go all out on a race day outfit. With a brood of kids in tow it’s about a balance of keeping the kids entertained (and contained) and doing something enjoyable for us adults, so it was exciting to have a family friendly event we could enjoy all together.

img_7240

 

I had a gorgeous Carla Zampatti leopard print maxi skirt I picked up second-hand for a bargain, that’s been screaming out to be worn. Unfortunately, it was a smidge on the tight side so i took it to local designer Kat Pengelly from Koshka and she worked her magic…even adding a girls best friend, pockets!

Kat also offered a piece from her latest collection ‘Brave Fortune’ to wear, a lovely reversible cowl neck top (love a versatile garment!).  She even whipped up a clutch for me too.  Phew, stress taken out of the decision on outfit!

I didn’t plan on entering Fashions on the Field, but a few girlfriends coerced me into joining them.  So next dilemma, what head piece shall i wear? Luckily local milliner Faith from Feathers by Faith stepped in to save the day.   Well, said girlfriends all bailed on the day (hmm…) but I did  feel proud to enter ‘Local Lady of the Day’ supporting local designers.

It was also lovely to bump into fellow local bloggers Finding Femme and Goldfields Girls and some lovely women, who introduced themselves as fans from Instagram, and many other local women dressing up for the occasion.

unnamed

I felt extra special having my make up and hair done by local make up artist Brooke Fiddaman Thank you again!

Kids horse racing!

 

There were some spectacular fashions and we all had a wonderful family day out!

Stephanie xx

 

 

Disclaimer – I was lent the above items to wear to the Ballarat Cup and show to you, my readers.

24 thoughts on “A Day at the Races

Leave a comment